Skip to content

Book Report… Finding Katya

June 13, 2023

Yes, I’m still here, and yes, the graphic novel Finding Katya is still in the works, but it’s very, very close to being published. It’s taken four years to get to this point. Yes, I said four years. That’s because I knew nothing when I started, made a lot of false starts and mistakes, and then made more false starts and mistakes. But I’m almost there.

I will never be a Marvel comics artist. And at 79, I don’t have time to become one. My Art Bucket List has included some kind of sequential art publication for many years, long before I knew it was called sequential art. I really just wanted to tell stories with pictures and I loved comic books as a kid. This was a way to scratch that itch.

The book, 140 pages, will be self-published. The art is primarily ink and watercolor, with some gouache in places. If I have to select a genre, I suppose Finding Katya is a fantasy/coming of age story, set in medieval times. Shown here is just the artwork. Speech bubbles and captions are added digitally.

For those who don’t remember, Nell and I are RV dwellers, living in our 36 foot fifth wheel. I mention that to explain that my creative pursuits are pursued in the little space pictured above.

We are reviewing the book and I’m redrawing several pages at present. Updates when there’s more news.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Douglas Elliot permalink
    June 14, 2023 12:43 am

    So good to hear from you Ralph. Your book looks very good and I can’t wait to see the final version. Keep going! Check out my A59 book, also self published.

    • June 15, 2023 6:32 pm

      Thanks, Doug! Glad to know you’re still chugging along. Your A59 book looks great. How can I purchase a copy with US dollars?

      • Douglas Elliot permalink
        June 16, 2023 3:33 am

        I’ll send you one ralph, I asked to be a friend on your Facebook page, when I get approval I will message you .

      • Douglas Elliot permalink
        June 16, 2023 8:12 am

        I sent you a message on your Facebook page, I need your address so I cand you a free copy. Doug

      • June 30, 2023 8:35 am

        Doug, I received the book. What an accomplishment! Is there a tourism office somewhere along the route where your book can be offered for sale to travelers??

      • Douglas Elliot permalink
        June 30, 2023 11:00 am

        Glad you received my book safely Ralph, I sold a few at the local post office. We haven’t got a tourist office in the town, the nearest ones are in Liverpool and Preston. I’ll contact them.

  2. Christine Clark permalink
    June 14, 2023 8:47 am

    Hello Ralph,
    I am very happy for you to have accomplished this goal for your life. And at 79 years old. Awesome! Thank you for sharing the pictures also and your space where you work it looks cozy. It is inspirational to read about your journey as many of us meet so many roadblocks. It’s easy to stop and not complete a project. I have been trying to figure out super eight film and that’s my roadblock right now. Have a great summer.
    Chris

  3. Alice permalink
    June 14, 2023 12:19 pm

    These are gorgeous. I manage a public library in my day-job life and would love a copy of this for our collection. Please be sure to post when we can purchase!

  4. June 16, 2023 8:23 pm

    So good to hear from you! Looking forward to getting a copy of this book! You have worked so hard for it, and you really are an inspiration to us.

    • June 30, 2023 8:46 am

      Hi Lucy! Thanks so much for the kind comments. This has been a new experience, something I’ve wanted to do for many years.

Leave a comment