Skip to content

A Day At The Beach

March 27, 2016

This weekend, we spent a couple of nights at a condo on Mustang Island near Port Aransas. The sky was mostly gray, and while we did get a few hours on the beach on Saturday morning, later in the day the breeze got uncomfortably cool. All of that is to say that I didn’t get as much sketching time in as I had hoped. But… I did get a couple of things done.

beach people for blog

Drawing directly with no preliminary pencil work is an interesting exercise when working on location – and sketching people. I found it was easy to feel rushed, even when the subjects were sitting still. The beach wasn’t terribly busy, so I worked quickly with the subjects I had.

beach sandcastle for blog

After warming up with the first page, I shifted my focus to a group working on a huge sand fortress. They were mostly wearing either black or white shirts, so I put them in a variety of colors to brighten this scene up.

beach canopy for blog

After going in to Port Aransas for lunch, we ventured back out on the beach in the afternoon. The temperature had dropped a little and with the breeze that was blowing, it became too uncomfortable to stay out. I did take the time to sketch this man slouched in his beach chair with his dog on his lap.  As luck would have it, after I had packed up and folded my chair, he was joined by several companions. I would have stayed, but without a jacket, it had gotten too cold.

beach ice cream for blog

Dessert Island Ice Cream is a colorful fixture in Port Aransas. This sketch was done directly with a pen, but I used a reference photo. This place is not just colorful on the outside, it is pretty bright on the inside as well. Of course I took some reference photos.

On this weekend excursion, I found myself looking at subjects from a different point of view. Line work and color have moved to the front of the line. I tried to shoot every colorful structure I saw, and in coastal Texas, there are a lot of them.

Stay tuned.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2016 2:45 am

    Lovely sketches Ralph. Line and wash is my preferred method of p.a. sketching.

  2. March 28, 2016 7:17 am

    Thanks, Doug. It’s hard to explain why, but I really am enjoying this. While I enjoy painting, drawing was always my first love. It feels right.

Leave a comment