Skip to content

Street Sketches

March 24, 2016

I’m continuing to develop my sketching skills, drawing with pen & ink directly on the paper. A large part of these exercises is the editing process… deciding very quickly what to include and what to leave out. A street scene can bombard one with details, and this direct method of drawing means there is no opportunity to change my mind and pick up an eraser. The “mistakes” become part of the drawing, and to a thoughtful observer, show the thought process and decision-making that took place. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. I should make a disclaimer about the quality of the images here. I do this quickly, and record the artwork with my phone, often under varied lighting conditions. Should anyone want to purchase one of these sketches, I’ll certainly provide a better quality photo before anyone makes a commitment. Now… let’s look at pictures.

adelmanns deli A

Adelmann’s Deli, Bar Harbor, Maine

 

I like to spot interesting structures, and this older building with its cantilevered overhang and big window awnings fits the bill. You couldn’t ask for better colors. This one came complete with a light green paint and a red bench and sign.

cherrystones A

Cherrystone’s is an indoor-outdoor restaurant with a patio bar and upstairs outdoor seating. The high roof, all those railings, and of course, the big red awning over the patio make for a great subject.  They were even kind enough to plant a full-grown tree on the corner to help the composition.

0322161636a for blog

The street next to Cappie’s Chowder House in Camden, Maine goes down to the harbor. This three story building sits at the bottom and faces the harbor. It houses a great art gallery with work by some terribly talented area artists. A building like this, with its different levels, multiple balcony railings and changes in depth, presents a challenge for direct drawing.

We’re headed to the coast tomorrow, and I’m hoping to get some true plein air sketching done.

0324161546at500

Meanwhile, we ran some errands today, and ate a late breakfast at IHOP. For the first time, I carried my sketchbook in. This was a very quick, less than 5 minutes, sketch of a man across from us. Its rough, but at least I did it.

More to come.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2016 2:38 am

    Sketching is the best way to remember a trip. I did over 90 sketches on my trip to New Zealand many thumbnails from the tour bus.
    http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1374651&highlight=Sketches

    Doug

  2. Jane permalink
    March 25, 2016 8:47 am

    Lovely work!

Leave a Reply

