Skip to content

“Lloyd”, A Gouache Portrait (Finished)

January 11, 2013
Lloyd, Gouache, 8x10

Lloyd, Gouache, 8×10

Lloyd is based on a photo by Li Newton that I found on the website Paint My Photo.  Li describes Lloyd as a hard working man who lives in the Bahamas.  I was struck, not only by the character in this man’s face, but also the wonderful lighting that Li brought to the photo.  It isn’t a perlfect likeness, but at this point, I’m more focused on learning to develop form, values and skin tones while making a good painting.  There are a few little things in the drawing that could have been a little better, but at this point I’m just enjoying the discovery and the learning process.  You can click on the image to open it in a new window and make it larger.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Hairball permalink
    January 11, 2013 12:40 pm

    That looks great. It was great seeing it in progress.

  2. William R Moore permalink
    January 11, 2013 1:10 pm

    Texture of the goatee is really well done.

    • January 11, 2013 8:26 pm

      Thanks, William. This whole thing was an experiment. Hope I can remember how I did those whiskers. Good to hear from you.

  3. margaretquin permalink
    January 11, 2013 1:47 pm

    Wow, Ralph! It’s almost like a photograph! Very good character study! The eyes are so alive! Good work! (My opinion, of course)! Sincerely, Margaret Quin

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. January 11, 2013 2:16 pm

    Hi Ralph.
    fantastic Portrait mate. Now you are also a Portrait painter. Well done. All the best.
    Vic..

    • January 11, 2013 8:23 pm

      Victor! Thank you! A new challenge, and I’m enjoying it. Hope all’s well with you. Good to hear from you my friend.

  5. Robyn (Ro) Lovelock permalink
    January 12, 2013 12:18 am

    Ralph…I think it’s fabulous! Wonderful likeness. Really beautifully done.
    Gouache really lends itself to portraits. Very impressive.
    All the best to you. Ro x

  6. January 13, 2013 1:01 am

    Well done!

Leave a comment