Skip to content

“Lloyd”, a portrait in progress

January 9, 2013

In Progress, 8x10, Gouache

In Progress, 8×10, Gouache


I had another portrait ready to post, but I thought I’d post this one instead because of the source. (You can see a larger version by clicking on the image.) This is from an image posted on Paint My Photo. I received a note yesterday from Robyn Lovelock, reminding me of the resources available there. The website’s Homepage states “Paint My Photo (PMP) Is for the sharing of reference photos for creating derivative Artwork without copyright worries.” The rules are pretty simple:

~ “Please only paint derivative works from photographs, not from reproductions of members’ artwork.”

~ “Members may only share photographs 1) that they have taken themselves or 2) for which they have full copyright ownership.”

Much like the Image Library on WetCanvas, there is no apparent requirement to credit the source, but if one is posting a painting online, it seems like the polite thing to do. My reference photo of Lloyd was taken by Li Newton.

The palette for this, so far, consists of ultramarine blue, raw sienna, red, yellow ochre, and titanium white. Even though I have an awful long way to go with this one, I thought I’d post it and then we’ll see where it ends up after another session or two.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Robyn (Ro) Lovelock permalink
    January 9, 2013 8:28 pm

    Li Newton has some great shots from the Caribbean Ralph. Really nice people shots.
    I’m so glad you took a look. This is looking really good Ralph.
    I can see this in Gouache and your style…
    http://paintmyphoto.ning.com/photo/as-far-as-the-eye-can-see
    Here is a search which may help.
    http://paintmyphoto.ning.com/photo/photo/searchq=people%2Cportrait%2Cman%2Cwoman
    I’ve really enjoyed receiving your emails Ralph.
    All the best to you.
    Ro x

  2. margaretquin permalink
    January 11, 2013 1:54 pm

    I’ve sent a couple email, but don’t know if you have Received them. Basically, they say how much I like your paintings!
    Sincerely,
    Margaret Quin

    • January 11, 2013 2:55 pm

      Boy, Margaret, I thought I had replied back to you. My apologies! Thanks so much. Hope all is well with you and Bob.

      All the best,
      Ralph

      • margaretquin permalink
        January 11, 2013 10:37 pm

        Bob & I are well. Traveling to KS for 8-10 days, every month to help dau Hillary with children while she’s in Nursing school. She plans to graduate May, 2014. Dodge City is 450 miles from us. Single Mom with no family there.

Leave a Reply

