Skip to content

Down Time

June 4, 2017

As if this blog isn’t already a bit hit and miss, I think we’re looking at a bit more down time. I’ve got some medical appointments over the next few days, and then on Friday (June 9) I will have open heart surgery to repair a faulty mitral valve. I’ve cut boards and set up paint so I’ll be ready to get back to it, but I have no idea what kind of down time to really expect. At the moment, I have a desire to do some serious landscape painting, primarily in acrylics, but I foresee some studies in gouache as well.  I expect I’ll work up some sketches and studies for potential paintings.  I’ll be anxious to get started again when the time comes. Meanwhile, here’s something new.

0511171213modified900

The Storehouse, 11×14, Acrylic

27 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2017 3:10 pm

    Hi Ralph, I am so sorry to read about your health… hope you are up and painting very soon again, I love your work and hope to see soon an new addition to your work.

    • June 4, 2017 3:24 pm

      Thank you, Roeleen. I really appreciate it. I’m looking forward to getting going again.

    • June 4, 2017 3:27 pm

      Roeleen, I just realized where you are. I spent about three years living and working in Auckland about thirty years ago. New Zealand is a beautiful place!

  2. June 4, 2017 3:47 pm

    Hi Ralph. Best wishes for a speedy recovery! I respect your desire to keep moving forward by even the smallest steps, as you prepare boards and get ready for the next phase of your artistic life, which will likely come with a vast improvement in your health and sense of well being after the heart surgery.

  3. June 4, 2017 5:03 pm

    Beautiful painting…..sorry to hear about your health, a speedy recovery!

  4. June 4, 2017 5:23 pm

    Wishing you a very speedy recovery and back to the paintings very soon. This is a lovely piece!

  5. June 4, 2017 8:57 pm

    Ralph, I’ll be thinking about you and hoping your recovery is very speedy. Thank you for all of the sharing you do. It makes a difference.

  6. June 4, 2017 10:10 pm

    That ‘something new’ is lovely, and I hope that your appointments and operation go well. Having prepped materials ready and waiting make great ‘carrots’ for getting well pronto!

    Will send extra strong energies on Friday…..

  7. Marsha Layman permalink
    June 4, 2017 11:54 pm

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery, Ralph. We’ll be watching for your return.

  8. Bridget Williams permalink
    June 5, 2017 1:16 am

    Sorry to hear the old ticker is giving you problems. My husband had the same operation. You will need to rest up afterwards; so your painting will be just the thing to free your mind. Hope everything goes well and you are soon out there painting the barn board again amongst the fresh air and singing birds. Bridget Williams (Australia)

  9. June 5, 2017 8:21 am

    Thank you for sharing, both your art and your next challenge. I hope your surgery and recovery go well.

  10. Gigi Pelletier permalink
    June 5, 2017 8:39 am

    You are an inspiration, your paintings so beautiful. You will be in my thoughts for a good recovery.

  11. June 6, 2017 12:41 am

    All the best Ralph with your surgery and may you have a quick recovery and get back to your painting!

  12. Antje permalink
    June 6, 2017 3:02 am

    What a gem of a painting! I really like the light situation and your handling of the grass in the foreground. I’m sorry to hear about your health hickups though. Fingers crossed everything will go well with the surgery and that you will recover quickly!

    • June 6, 2017 3:10 pm

      Thanks Antje! I hope you enjoyed the gouache book.

      • Antje permalink
        June 7, 2017 1:57 am

        I really did – it is such a neat little book! Fingers crossed for your endeavours in the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

