Skip to content

Blues Rock, a gouache painting

April 25, 2017
rocks on hwy 29 900

Blues Rock, 8×10, Gouache

Like a lot of artists, when I don’t paint for a while, I get a bit rusty. I’ve focused on drawing and sketching a lot lately, and was beginning to feel out of touch with the paint and brushes. This is the second painting I’ve done in the past few days (the first one wasn’t bad, but we’ll call it a warmup).

studio april 2017 900

I took my time with this one. As most of you know by now, my “studio” space is tiny. My easel stays broken down and tucked away when I’m not painting. I decided to leave it stored and paint the way I did in the very beginning, with the board lying almost flat on my workspace table top. It was actually kind of a relaxed way of working. The palette for this painting included Titanium White, Ultramarine Blue, Red, Alizarin Crimson, Yellow Medium, Hansa Yellow Light, Burnt Umber and Burnt Sienna. As always, the greens were a challenge.

For more about how I paint and what I’ve learned while working with gouache, you might be interested in my book Painting The Wold My Way ~ The Gouache Book. You can see a preview and order the book at:

http://www.blurb.com/b/7779195-painting-the-world-my-way

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

+

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

