Skip to content

Little Gouache Sketches

March 13, 2017

I’ve been spending some time the last few days just playing around with small gouache sketches. These are 4″x 6″ sketchbook studies.

sketchbook barn 900

sketchbook farm 900

These are both from photos taken in Ohio.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim Williams. permalink
    March 14, 2017 11:43 am

    I like these little ones. They are fascinting, each a setting of a life style. Will they be a study for a larger work or exist as they are? Perhaps I should try some this year when the weather picks up. Do you paint from the wether proofed RV?
    Jim.

    • March 14, 2017 9:33 pm

      Jim, these were all either invented from my own mind, or from photographs. I do produce some from life as well, but only in good weather. Some of them are very likely to be used for larger work. Nice to hear from you!

  2. normrossignol2013 permalink
    March 15, 2017 7:15 pm

    Hi Ralph, I like these little jewels. I have a plein air group PASSO Plein Air Society of So. Oregon. Anytime you want to come to So. Oregon, Rogue River area, let me know and I’ll be happy to show you around and paint. maybe you could do a demo for my group. Or just paint. I bought you new book and it’s a jewel too. Cheers Norm
    http://www.normrossignol.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

