Skip to content

Back To The Drawing Board

January 17, 2017

.

If you’re anything like me, you go to an art blog to see art, and I know I’ve put a lot of notifications on here lately rather than art. So…now that we are seeing sales of THE BARN PROJECT, and while we’re waiting for the preview copy of THE GOUACHE BOOK to arrive, it’s time to get back to the actual art.

6x6-mckinney-farm

The barn above was found hiding with several other weathered old farm buildings  on the other side of a thickly grown fence row. In this view, I eliminated a lot of overhanging branches and thin trunks and limbs growing right at the fence and along the road. Much of this little 6″ x  6″ gouache piece was done with a palette knife, something I do vey rarely. I kind of like the texture in the foreground.

5x7-the-upper-barn-900

The little 5″ x  7″ gouache piece above was kind of blah until I went back to it with a bit more paint and stronger color. Something like this is always a reminder to me that I need to use more paint and less water.

Now I’m going to pull the watercolor pads off the shelf and see if I can find some new situations for Sherwin the Snail to get into.

And by the way… Happy New Year, Everyone!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 17, 2017 2:11 pm

    Happy new year to you too, Ralph Parker! Beautiful paintings, I love the perspective with the grass in front in the first one. The second building has a curious bend on one of the walls, kind of sucks you in. Great!

Leave a Reply

