Skip to content

Moving Forward

November 13, 2016

The election in the United States is over and it’s time to refocus. Nell and I are presently in Ohio visiting family. I did pack my sketching and painting gear, and have already gotten some nice reference photos while we were driving up here.

1024161638a-cropped-650high

I have a small booklet in the works that I’ve titled The Barn Project, and hope to add a few new drawings (and maybe a painting or two) of some additional barns while I’m editing the text.

In addition, I’m revising the long-promised book on gouache. I had to change the printing method in order to keep the book well within a reasonable price range.  I continue to look for new ideas and develop new drawings for the saga of Sherwin the Snail. And, of course, there are drawings and paintings of a variety of subjects that call out to be done.  Here are some gouache paintings done recently.

king-ranch-1

Watering Hole, Gouache, 8×10

We recently spent a week in Port Aransas, Texas, and while there we took a day trip to the famed King Ranch. While on the four hour wildlife tour, we saw deer, javelina, a wolf, a variety of birds, turkeys and even an alligator. Naturally, there were cattle as well. The painting above portrays one of the many watering holes scattered throughout the ranch.

 

boat-from-lesley-thompson-60high

Untitled, Gouache, 8×10

One of the beauties of a social media site like Facebook is the opportunity to develop relationships with people in other parts of the world.  A Facebook Friend who lives in the UK posted photos for me of interesting subjects like the boat above, moored in Suffolk.

 

shrimper

Shrimper, Gouache, 8×10

 

The painting above is still in progress. It’s one of the many shrimp boats moored at the harbor in Rockport-Fulton, Texas. I love visiting the marinas on the Gulf Coast and shooting images of these boats. Every one of them is a little different.

And we’ll finish this post off with some plein air pieces. I’m still just a “dabbler” when it comes to plein air, but here are some recent attempts:

back-yard-trees-650high

Back Yard Trees, Gouache, 5×7

 

tree-limb-800

Tree Limb, Gouache, 5×7

the-river-102116-800

River Bed, Gouache, 5×7

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lfraker permalink
    November 13, 2016 4:20 pm

    I love your work in gouache!

  2. November 19, 2016 6:00 pm

    Hi Ralph, thinking about WordPress is it very costly. Any info you can give would be appreciated. Thank you. Joan

    • November 20, 2016 7:31 am

      Joan, the best thing about WordPress is that it’s free, at least the blogs are. That, and the ease of use, are what drew me here. When I started, they didn’t have a website feature, so after a couple of years with my first blog, I redesigned it to serve as a website, and it works pretty well for me. You can see it at http://www.ralphparkerart.com. I do pay a small annual fee for the domain name, but that’s all. I haven’t priced the cost for an actual website.

      • Joan Sicignano permalink
        November 20, 2016 1:14 pm

        Thanks so much Ralph. I plan to start one in the next week or so, you are always so helpful. I truly appreciate help. All the best to you and Nell. Joan

Leave a Reply

