Skip to content

Sherwin Illustrations

October 7, 2016

Much of the work in the past month has been focused on Sherwin the Snail. I’m truly enjoying creating these illustrations. They come straight from my imagination directly to the paper, doing preliminary drawings in pencil, then proceeding to ink and finished with watercolor.

sherwin-beside-the-pond-650high

I’m having a lot of fun with these. Rather than a continuous story, I’m approaching them as stand alone images with captions. I’m finding it’s a lot harder to do the written parts than the illustrations.

sherwin-meets-mouse-final-900

Some will be elaborate drawings in full color.

shortcut-650high

Others will be spot illustrations, some with color and some in black and white. I’m currently participating in Inktober, a world-wide challenge to produce one ink drawing each day for the 30 days of October. I’m using it as an impetus to produce ideas for the Sherwin project.

The full size illustrations are in the 10″ x 12″ range. I’m finding I prefer doing the ink  and watercolor work on Strathmore Watercolor paper, 140 lb, cold press. I’m working directly in the 11×15 spiral pad.

The smaller illustrations and sketches are done in my favorite sketchbook: Canson’s “Mix Media” spiral bound 5.5 x 8.5 pad with 98 lb paper.

The ink work is a combination of Sharpies and Micron pens.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    October 8, 2016 6:44 am

    These are great! Thanks so much!

  2. October 9, 2016 7:44 pm

    These are delightful! Thank you for sharing.

  3. March 22, 2017 9:13 pm

    Very lovely work! Such intricate detail!

Leave a Reply

