Skip to content

Laundromat

April 12, 2016
Laundromat leander at700

Laundromat, 5×7

Sketches like this are good exercises in perspective. Fortunately, because it’s a loose sketch, I didn’t have to be too precise with the shapes of the dryer doors. In spite of that, hopefully I managed to capture the feel of the place. While I practice a lot with photographs, this one was actually done on location while we waited for the machines to do their work. I did a reasonably accurate pencil sketch first before inking it. Since I didn’t take my full sketching kit, the watercolor was added after we got back home. A neighbor saw it later in the day, and has bought it. There is a lesson in here somewhere:  Never choose your subject based on whether someone might want it. Choose what catches your artist’s eye and just enjoy the doing.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2016 9:39 am

    I enjoy your posts but I cannot see the picture in this one? It comes up as a blank white space.

  2. April 12, 2016 10:07 am

    Darn it, still no photo! I enjoy these sketches very much.

    • April 12, 2016 10:08 am

      Working on it. Okay, just saw your comment that it’s showing up now. Thanks for letting me know!

  3. April 12, 2016 10:36 am

    It was worth the wait! I admire your free sketch skills!

    • April 12, 2016 11:55 am

      Thanks, Cathy! The Laundromat was done over a light preliminary pencil sketch, but I’m really enjoying just going right at it with a pen most of the time. Sometimes they’re pretty rough, but generally, once I get past that first initial mark, they develop pretty well. AND… they are, after all, just a sketch. That’s what’s so liberating about this. (Feel free to share with your students :o)

  4. Kathryn permalink
    April 12, 2016 12:04 pm

    Hi Ralph, I love the new urban sketching! You might enjoy Robert Lafond’s blog “mark and remark.” You two seem to be kindred spirits…philosophically and, in some ways, artistically. As always thanks for sharing your wonderful, inspiring work.

    • April 12, 2016 2:57 pm

      Thanks, Kathryn! I took a quick look at Robert Lafond’s blog. A lot of good messages there, it seems. I’ll spend a bit more time there.

Leave a Reply

