Skip to content

More from Maine

March 22, 2016

Continuing with quick pen & ink sketches with watercolor. Again, these are drawn directly, without any preliminary pencil underdrawing. What makes this so much fun is the loose freshness that results. So far, comments on the blog are in agreement that the construction lines simply add to the interest.

prospect harbor trading co A

While I believe there is a fine art aspect to these sketches, I like the “reportage” feel, adding interest with line work and limited color. With apologies to my photographer friends, I like being able to show some things but eliminate others.

quoddy head light lubec maine A

Quoddy Head Light & State Park, Lubec, Maine

This image will probably show up again, because I want to do a series of lighthouses. For now, it’s another example of direct drawing with a pen (in this case, a Sharpie Ultra Fine Point). I love the simplicity of this.

house near lubec maine A

A simple wood shingle house near Lubec, Maine. As long-time followers know, houses are a favorite subject for me.

All of these are done with Micron and Sharpie pens and a very limited palette of watercolors.

I’ve been working with some street scenes, and those will come next.

Stay tuned.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2016 2:32 pm

    Thank you! I enjoy over hearing and seeing your continued risk taking.

    • March 22, 2016 5:58 pm

      Thanks, Cathy, but I figure if I’m having fun doing it, it’s really not very risky.

  2. March 22, 2016 5:53 pm

    Nice work Ralph, I like the uncluttered style.

    Doug

Leave a Reply

