Skip to content

Images from Maine

March 18, 2016

In August of 2013, we made our way to Maine, traveling in our motorhome.

My travel blog www.backroadsandbrushes.wordpress.com completely skipped our time in Maine. I think we were on the move so much each day, and I had such a huge collection of photographs, that it just became a bit overwhelming to try and describe what we were experiencing. As I experiment with sketching techniques, I’ve been going through the Maine photos. At the time, I was intent on painting. I now realize that I should have put more focus on sketching, and could have chronicled our travels in a much more interesting way. But… I hadn’t figured that out yet, I guess.

Since I’m experimenting with producing sketches drawn directly with the pen (without any preliminary base sketch in pencil) – and trying to develop a sort of journalistic/documentary approach, I thought it would be fun to focus temporarily on documenting a few things from our Maine experience. So… enjoy.

 

reds eats

When you pass through the town of Wiscassett, Maine, lobster becomes a major attraction. Just before crossing the Sheepscot River on Hwy 1, we saw a crowd lined up at Red’s Eats.

***

spragues lobster

And a bit farther on, on the right, another crowd filled the tables at Sprague’s Lobster. Judging by the crowds, we must have passed through around lunchtime. We were already committed to crossing the bridge, so we didn’t stop.

***

chappies chowder house

But once we got settled in at a campground in Rockport, Maine, we made a day trip into Camden and had lunch at Cappy’s Chowder House.

***

0318161440 2

 

Nell had a lobster roll with clam chowder (above) and I had a lobster and avocado salad. I’ve seen some great sketches of food, and it might be fun to try a bit more of it. It’s not a subject I’ve done much with. Food doesn’t last long enough around me to have time to draw it. We’ll see.

***

0317161144b 2

 

 

Aside from enjoying the food at Cappy’s, it was fun to take in the décor. Nell was seated with her back to the wall at our little table, and this moose head hung on the wall directly above her.

After lunch, we walked down the hill behind the restaurant and took in the waterfront at Camden Harbor. I guess that means that I have to do some harbor sketches next.

Stay tuned.

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Antje permalink
    March 19, 2016 2:09 am

    Lovely sketches! You do really excel at this. I’m looking forward to some of the harbour 🙂

  2. Catherine Hensiek permalink
    March 19, 2016 12:08 pm

    Ralph, these are beautiful and an inspiration for me to take a look at my photos from our last trip and do some sketches. I do take a sketch book when we travel and sketch when I can…but a lot of times the moments are so fleeting and I am too slow. Here’s a hint about sketching food…cold food only! That way your meal doesn’t get cold. Anyway, thanks for great post and sharing your lovely work.

  3. March 19, 2016 6:20 pm

    You should have stopped at Reds Eats! Best lobster rolls in Maine! We went with Buddy & Doris, back in 2007 (our 20th Anniversary trip)

    • March 19, 2016 6:26 pm

      Hi Cheryl! If we’d been in a car, we might have stopped. We were already aimed for the bridge, in a 36 foot motorhome towing a car. Not easy to just pull over. But we made up for it later on in the Rockport/Camden area.

Leave a Reply

