Skip to content

Sherwin Goes Exploring

January 8, 2016
IMG_6221

Sherwin Goes Exploring, 12×12, ink & watercolor

I’ve been working on a collection of illustrations, intended to be part of a book eventually. The story line of the book keeps eluding me. Others have ideas and suggestions, but none of it has really excited me. The illustrations, however, have completely grabbed me. This illustration is a departure from the others, primarily because the little boy in the original story isn’t included. There is a theme here, but so far it hasn’t gelled into an actual story.

I’ll keep working in this direction for a while and see what develops.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    January 8, 2016 8:07 pm

    Your tree character looks quite lively. It appears to be focusing on something or someone in the distance. Great painting.

  2. January 8, 2016 8:31 pm

    This illustration could definitely inspire a story. It is gorgeous and so detailed and interesting. I really love it. I would wish you luck, but you don’t need it!!!

  3. Dave Graham permalink
    January 8, 2016 9:41 pm

    Hi Ralph,

    Your tree painting is just brilliant. I have studied John Patience, Beatrix Potter, Mary Cicely Barker and many others who excel at Storybook/Fantasy art. I put you among them. I am on a similar wave length and will have a website out around early spring. I already have one story written and several other themes to do with the same character. It works well for me when I let the artwork tell the story. I’m sure the answers will come to you.

    Your creative work inspires me to improve.

    Love to see what happens with your story and will keep you updated on my inspirations if you wish.

    Dave Graham

    • January 9, 2016 12:27 am

      That’s big company, Dave. Thank you! I’m not sure where I’m headed with this, but at 71, it’s time I figured it out. Nice to hear from you, and yes, I’d like to hear how things go with your work.

      All the best,

      Ralph

      • Dave Graham permalink
        January 9, 2016 1:56 am

        Hi Ralph,

        Thanx for getting back to me.

        Currently I’m working on a map guide for Stanley park-about 60% complete. Very visual and artsy for a map guide. Out of this I’ve gotten back into art and as a result I have developed some animal characters including a Stanley Park squirrel named Stanley Parker (no relative) aka “Sparky”. I have several illustrations of him. This has spawned a complete idea for one story and a series of concepts for other stories. Sparky has dictated how he wants to be drawn and he has given me the themes for Children’s stories of his adventures in Stanley Park. Hope your character(s) do the same for you.
        In my opinion, your work belongs with big company. It inspires me to grow from a sketcher/cartoonist to a competent background artist. What you did to breathe life into the grass, trees, mushrooms, and snail is exceptional. It has great pull and compels me to read your story books.
        Let me know if you’d like to see some of my work. I’d be happy to share it with you via email.
        Soon, I’ll have some of it up on Facebook, Twitter, and my new Website.

        Keep in touch,

        Best 2 U

        Dave Graham-63 years young.

  4. April 3, 2016 9:26 pm

    Ralph… I so love your art! I’d love to learn more about sketching. Do you have books teaching art?

    • April 4, 2016 9:36 am

      Hanna, I wish I did. I have one in progress, but I’m such a procrastinator, who knows when it will be finished. Thank you very much for the nice comment!

      • April 4, 2016 3:20 pm

        Well, your fans need your guidance! It’s time to stop procrastinating 🙂 would you suggest any books? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

