Skip to content

Watercolor Studies

August 31, 2015

I occasionally hit a plateau with gouache, a time when it just doesn’t want to do what I want it to do. Of course, it could be because I haven’t done much painting recently. Nell and I are living our lives the way we want to, and sometimes that calls for other priorities. It does mean that if I go too long without painting, I lose my touch. So, since gouache isn’t cooperating (no matter  what I say, it’s the paint’s fault), I switched gears and have been playing with watercolor.

IMG_5581a

Some subjects work well for me as just watercolor, and others call for additional pencil work. The old house above needed that added touch of loose, sketchy line work. It does have kind of an illustration feel, but that’s not a bad thing.

IMG_5582a

All of these are quick studies, without much detail. I had to stop on the sheds above because I really wanted to detail the bicycle, and was starting to add texture to the wood walls. I really want to save that for a more developed piece.

IMG_5583a

I approached each of these a little differently. I tried to keep the farmhouse above very simple, letting the shapes and the brush strokes tell the story.

IMG_5584a

A simple landscape. The house was touched in with white gouache.

Watercolor, of course, is not my first language when it comes to art, but when I can do a pencil sketch (my first love), and add color to it, I’m definitely in my element. This is a fun way to change focus for a while.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    September 1, 2015 6:40 am

    Happy to learn you’re still painting. Watercolor is fun to work with…

  2. September 1, 2015 2:56 pm

    They’re all unique Ralph with their own personality…lovely paintings!

  3. October 12, 2015 10:22 am

    Great studies. In the last one, I love the way you laid down the shadows on the lane.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

