Skip to content

Pencil drawings & sketches

August 28, 2014

Cottage

I’ve often said here that my first love is pencil.  I believe the ability to draw is one of the most important tools in the artist’s box, and sketching things out of my imagination and memory is a favorite pastime. I’ve spent a lot of time with sketchbook and pencils lately.  The image above was a preliminary sketch for a small painting.

IMG_2360

While I love building textures in sketches, sometimes a quick form and a few lines can tell the entire story.  In the sketch above, I blocked in the house on the left quickly, and before I knew it, this beach scene at low tide almost drew itself onto the paper.

IMG_2358

As if there aren’t enough projects in the studio, the idea of an illustrated book just won’t go away.  In line with the cottages and barns that have been filling pages in my sketchbooks, farm scenes keep popping up in my mind.

IMG_2348

Of course, farm scenes involve chickens, goats, cows and other animals, so I’ve been doing little sketches of those, working from images found online and in my own photo albums.

IMG_2359And, in the process, a rickety old bridge over a creek came to mind with a boy and a fishing pole, ready to spend some quiet time.

Maine1

Sometimes a pencil sketch is nothing more than a value study, with only hints at detail.  This sketch of a small building in Maine will eventually become a painting. Meanwhile, the original sketch was purchased by a collector.

.

.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Margaret Quin permalink
    August 29, 2014 8:34 am

    What a gift you have, Ralph! Love your drawings!

    Margaret Quin,
    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • August 29, 2014 9:35 am

      Loving it, Margaret. We wouldn’t want to be doing anything else! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

