Skip to content

Cottage in Watercolor

July 23, 2014

IMG_2273cropped

Stone Cottage, 6×6, Watercolor

I’m having a lot of fun doing these little thatched roof cottages.  Conjuring these things up in my head has made me feel more creative than I have felt in a long time.  They can go as fast as I want, or I can take my time with them.  First, a loose pencil sketch on illustration board, made up on the spot.  Then I spend some time with watercolors, playing with light, mood and atmosphere.  Once I’m satisfied with that, I go back and embellish the piece with more loose, casual pencil strokes.

IMG_2284

We’re experimenting with putting these images on ceramic tiles: 4″x 4″ for coasters and 6″x 6″ (shown here) for trivets or hot plates.  We’ll sell them online and at fairs and festivals.

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Martin permalink
    July 23, 2014 4:55 pm

    Can I draw ur pictures pictures

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Kathryn permalink
    July 23, 2014 5:11 pm

    Too nice to use as a trivet or coaster. I would just hang this on my wall. I love your art.

    • July 24, 2014 4:56 pm

      Thanks, Kathryn. We figure we’ll do some with hangers on the back as well.

  3. Charlie Buck permalink
    July 23, 2014 5:28 pm

    I forgot that there are more of both sizes of tiles in my garage from the first trip. You were about to leave town for a few days and only accepted a partial shipment. I don’t have much feel for the number. I rinsed them off in the driveway when I got home. I’d say maybe 20, I’ll count when I get home.

    • July 23, 2014 8:37 pm

      We remembered that and we would have reminded you eventually. Nell is optimistic and thinks we’ll need more soon (even though we haven’t touched them yet). We’ll take them whenever we can get them.

  4. Marilyn permalink
    July 23, 2014 7:46 pm

    I see Goldilocks peeking in the window! Adorable.

  5. Margaret Quin permalink
    July 23, 2014 8:37 pm

    Ralph,
    My email address has changed to mhquin@live.com. I do not know how to change it.
    Thanks,

    Margaret Quin,
    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. Catherine Hensiek permalink
    July 24, 2014 1:12 am

    I think this is a really neat idea. Your example is charming and nostalgic. Great use of more than one media to get the effect you wanted.

  7. July 25, 2014 8:48 am

    Wonderful work Ralph, I don’t have to go to face book to enjoy your post. Yes, I agree with Catherine, charming and nostalgic. All the best with you show.

    • July 25, 2014 9:12 am

      Thanks, Joan. Nice to see you on here. BTW, I really liked the Arboretum Farmhouse Painting.

Leave a Reply

