Skip to content

Street Scenes from Maine

July 20, 2014

cappy's chowder house

Cappy’s Chowder House, 8×10, Gouache

Last week I decided to get back to gouache, and tried my hand at a couple of street scenes.

The one above is Cappy’s Chowder House in Camden, Maine.  It sits at the intersection of several streets right in the center of town.  If you go down to the right in this picture, you end up at Camden Harbor.  We ate here shortly after arriving in Maine.  It was an enjoyable meal in a picturesque atmosphere.

IMG_2254edited

Rockland Café, 8×10, Gouache

While parked at a nearby RV park in this part of Maine, we spent some time in Rockland, Camden and Rockport.  If you’re looking for quantity, the Rockland Café is the place.  I ordered the smaller version of their seafood platter and it looked like they backed a truck up to the table and piled it high.  There is a sign inside that says “If you’re looking for fast food, you might want to try the golden arches up the street.  Good food takes time.”  A super casual café atmosphere.  We ate here a couple of times.

I would love to do a whole series of street scenes, but my attention span seems to be limited.  Street scenes always seem a bit daunting to me.  I take reference photos of places I would love to paint or draw, but when I look at the images, It just seems a bit too much to absorb.  I’m happy with the way these two came out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2014 4:17 pm

    Great job, Ralph. I like them both!

  2. Marilyn permalink
    July 20, 2014 4:44 pm

    You should be very happy with these! I’d never attempt such realistic detail. Now, why am I hungry?

Leave a Reply

