Skip to content

Some Watercolor Pieces

July 15, 2014

Sorry for the delay in getting back here!  I’ve spent some time experimenting with watercolor.  I have gotten back to gouache, but I thought I’d post a couple of watercolor pieces first.  I’ll post the latest gouache work another day.

watercolor cottage

Cottage, 9×12, watercolor on crescent board

IMG_1978editedStone House, 8×10, watercolor on Crescent board

IMG_1979edited

Lightkeeper’s House, 9×12, watercolor & pencil on Crescent board

These have been fun to do.  I will admit that I have a much greater appreciation for what watercolorists do now that I’ve made a few attempts.

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Marilyn permalink
    July 15, 2014 6:26 pm

    Ralph, you’ve really got a special talent. It’s inspiring!

  2. Margaret Quin permalink
    July 15, 2014 7:11 pm

    I love the 9 by 12 cottage best!!

    Margaret Quin,
    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. July 15, 2014 9:27 pm

    How do you working on Crescent board for watercolor Ralph? These are lovely!

    • July 16, 2014 8:41 am

      Illustration board vs watorcolor paper: I really don’t know the difference. I don’t experiment with materials a lot, and have worked on illustration board for many years. I did do some experimenting with a very small watercolor pad recently, but it was just enough to make me think there would probably be a difference if I was working on a larger size. My impression is that, since illustration board is basically paper down through its entire thickness, that the paint seeps down more as it spreads, absorbing the paint more. That’s all pure speculation on my part. I need to buy a few sheets of watercolor paper and learn the process before I can speak with any credibility.

  4. July 15, 2014 9:28 pm

    lol I meant “how do you like” working on crescent?

  5. Andrea permalink
    July 16, 2014 8:17 am

    I too would like to know how working on crescent board with watercolor is different than painting on watercolor paper…

  6. Lynn permalink
    July 16, 2014 9:25 am

    Ralph, between you and Roz Stendhal I have been convinced to try gouache! For the most part, I am enjoying gouache. The paintings seem dark to me though. Is it common to have to mix a lot of white into your colors to brighten up your painting? Also the paintings are dull and seem to not have any sparkle. I did experiment with Krylon spray and that seemed to help a bit, but I’m wondering if it’s more a case of having to add more white.
    Thank you for your posting on your blog. It always make my day to see what you are up to!

Leave a Reply

