Skip to content

Book Work

May 20, 2013
IMG_3375edited.jpg

The Stump at the End of Agnes Road, 5×7, Gouache

And so it begins…

I’ve been so encouraged by the many comments I’ve received encouraging me to put together my own book on how I paint with gouache.  I can already tell it’s going to be a slow process, but the challenge comes at a good time.

If you’ve been following the blog in recent weeks, you know we’ve made some changes.  We’ve removed all the paintings from their frames and stored them in tubs.  We donated the frames to an art materials recycling company.  We’ve counted roughly, and believe we are hauling around over 250 pieces of artwork, primarily gouache landscapes.  Why not store them somewhere?  Well, we still have our festival tent, and a couple of tables, and we are prepared to do the odd small shows when they present themselves.

Meanwhile, I’m beginning to look at what might be incorporated into a book.  There are a ton of paintings already done, of course, and I’ll be taking new photographs of many of them.  I’m editing and adding to the “Painting With Gouache” section in my blog.  There will only be minor changes in the blog text, but I’m working on major edits to include in the book.  At the moment, I’m looking at a small format.  I put a small book together a few years ago on a self-publishing website, and was surprised at the quality and detail I could get in a 7″x7″ book.

IMG_3342edited

One thing I’ve realized is that I need to do more “demo” and step-by-step images.  I experimented with that today, working on this little painting of a scene just up the road from where we’re parked in the motorhome.

IMG_3369edited

Since I hadn’t painted in a couple of weeks, it was kind of fun to work on this little piece, playing with the details, and taking a lot of photos as it progressed.  I’ll have to play with the explanation and narrative as well, but at least I’ve found some kind of starting point.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda Menke permalink
    May 20, 2013 7:25 pm

    It’s so good to hear that you are doing a book on gouache painting. There are so few about gouache that are comprehensive about technique. As a gouache painter myself, I look forward to the publication.

  2. Hoda Garas permalink
    May 21, 2013 6:10 am

    I love your work and I love gouache although I am certainly nowhere half as good as you are and think that a book on painting in gouache would be a lovely idea. There are not many of them out there.

  3. May 21, 2013 5:36 pm

    Oh Ralph, I love this already. Can hardly wait. Best of luck.

  4. Nancy V permalink
    May 22, 2013 4:08 pm

    Yes, like Joan, I can hardly wait! The step by step process is important, since we artists are visual people. I find it helps me so much more if I can ‘see’ the process instead of ‘reading’ the process.

Leave a Reply

