Skip to content

The More Things Change…

April 22, 2013

While waiting for the RV wash guy this morning, I went through the unframed art we have stored inside the motorhome.  In one small tub, there are over 80 small works, 9×12 and smaller (mostly 8×10) that are varnished and packaged in plastic sleeves.  In another tub, there are roughly 100 similar small works, many of them finished, some needing touchups, and some waiting for me to come back to them and finish them.

In the basement storage compartments, there are probably 50 or so framed pieces stored in frames, ranging in size from 5×7 up to 11×14.  Under the bed are at least 10 framed paintings ranging from 11×14 up to 16×20.  In addition to all the artwork, there is a tub full of unused/used frames in storage below, and a small tub of empty frames 5×7 and smaller.

A large part of our storage space is filled with artwork and frames, and it looks like our art festival days are coming to an end.  I’ve noted just recently that we are beginning to rethink our approach to selling art.

With that in mind, I’ve been going back through some old blog posts, and came across this one that I wrote just before we moved into the motorhome.  I’d say we’ve accomplished some of our goals, and now we’re simply taking a look and how to adjust now that we’ve had some experience.

https://ralphparker.wordpress.com/2011/11/02/3677/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2013 3:44 pm

    Ralph: I so admire you and your wife for choosing to reevaluate how you spend your time and to do the things that you both love. I appreciate both of your blogs. I hope that you are able to sell the paintings that you have in stock and use the money to do more of what you and Nell love to do! Many Blessings

    • Pam Staley permalink
      April 22, 2013 4:34 pm

      Dear Ralph,
      I hate to see your festival days come to an end cause I wanted to encourage you to come West and paint here in the Rockies where I could meet you and see a demonstration or two, but change is usually good. When you talk about writing a book, I sincerely hope that you are considering a book on traveling and painting with Gouache on the road. There are so few Gouache books out there for the pleasure painter. You are the only site that really makes me want to get out and paint.

      There are many of us who want to paint what we love, don’t want to be quite so quick and unforgiving as watercolor, and not slow drying and messy as oil, and would like to learn more about a medium that you can enjoy while traveling. You have mastered such a painting style with a great medium and I would love to see more step by step demonstrations. I cannot tell you how many times I have watched your online ones…it is sort of embarrassing! But I am getting much better because of you.

      So please don’t stop blogging and do more demos please! It would be fun to see you write about the travel to a place, the perfect campsite or park to enjoy the beauty there and then a demo of a painting there. You are such a natural teacher and I will keep tuning in to see what progresses.

      Best of luck to you.
      Pam

  2. April 23, 2013 2:50 am

    I didn’t know you had demonstrations. I’d love to see them. That may be a new path for you. Many blessings to you both.

Leave a Reply

