Skip to content

The Surf at Mustang Island

April 11, 2013
surf at mustang9x12.jpg

Mustang Island Waves, 9×12, Gouache

After a couple of plein air studies of the waves at Mustang Island, Texas, and a studio study, this is the fourth version.  There are so many aspects to capturing waves, in terms of movement, color and value, I can see how artists can spend years painting nothing else.  For now, I’m happy with the way this one came out.  This is a subject I’d like to explore further.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2013 11:51 pm

    Well done Ralph!

  2. April 12, 2013 8:12 am

    Good morning Ralph,
    Beautiful waves. A series of something you would like to study is woderful. You’ll be able to do the waves on a wild weather day, perhaps early evening, or maybe as the sun puts an orange glow on the waves. Have fun. I love your positive attitude.

  3. Robyn Lovelock permalink
    April 12, 2013 8:42 am

    Really nice work Ralph? I think you should. You’re onto a winner.
    Lovely waves. Ro x

  4. April 12, 2013 10:21 am

    I love this painting and the idea of further study such as painting the waves at different times and in different light. I tried an ocean painting while I was at Carolina Beach last year and was very pleased with it for myself. It was done in watercolor and I will look forward to trying it in Gouache this coming year. I will look forward to any scenes that you share Ralph. I love the idea of traveling and painting the way you do with your wife. Sounds like such a wonderful way to live. I so appreciate your sharing your journey in the way you do. Makes me feel connected to the artist community.

    • April 14, 2013 7:23 pm

      Thanks, Elizabeth. This was fun to do. I’m glad you enjoy sharing our adventures with us.

  5. margaretquin permalink
    April 13, 2013 11:06 pm

    The waves are so realistic! I see your growth as an artist, Ralph! More types of subjects, & more places. So glad for you and Nell to get to live your dream! Keep on sharing!
    Miss those days when i would hear you on the back patio, say “hello” through the fence, & you’d hold up a painting you were working on!
    I still love that picture called ‘The Secret Bridge’!
    Y’all take care!
    Margaret Quin in McKinney

    • April 14, 2013 7:22 pm

      Thanks so much, Margaret! I remember taking paintings out there so I could study the color in the daylight. We are having a great time, and yes, the travels have allowed me to paint a lot of different subjects. I’m loving it.
      Great to hear from you. All the best to both of you.

      Ralph

  6. Dan Owen permalink
    August 10, 2013 7:51 pm

    Mr Parker,
    You have captured the colors of the surf to a t. I have spent many hours on that very beach as well as Port A until I moved to Nacogdoches seven years ago, and seeing this makes me homesick for the Gulf of Mexico. Thanks for the memories.

    • August 14, 2013 7:59 pm

      Dan, comments like this really make my day. It tells me I’m getting it right. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

