Skip to content

A Paintout… Somewhere

March 16, 2013

“Everybody comes out and paints on Thursdays.”

That’s what one of the owner/artists in a co- op gallery in Rockport, Texas told us.  They would be all over the downtown area she said.  Anyone who wanted to paint was welcome.  The next day was Thursday, and Nell said I should go, so I loaded up my painting gear and went downtown.

IMG_2426edited

I spent a couple of hours getting this colorful building down.  I’d swear that in real life, it looked more green, but the photo insists on showing it as blue.  I realized part of the way through that I was being influenced by the loose, colorful work I had seen in the gallery the day before.  I’m not sure if that was a good thing or not.

IMG_2441edited

After painting for a couple of hours downtown, I got a drive-thru lunch and made my way to the little harbor/marina a few blocks away.  Sitting next to a sailboat from Hilo, Hawaii was this rough-looking shrimp boat.  I’ve painted a couple of these from photos, but felt that I needed to spend some time actually looking at the real thing as I painted it.  All that rigging can be intimidating.

I got this far, and then a family parked a large vehicle right in front of it.  I had taken several photos of it, so I called it a day.  I was disappointed with the piece at the time, but after looking at it for a while, I may work on it in the studio and see what develops.  I do intend to go back and paint more at the marina as well.

Oh, and all those other artists that would be out painting?  They must have gone somewhere else, because I never saw another painter all day.  I’ve chronicled the day’s adventure at my other blog, Back Roads & Brushes.  Here’s the link:

http://backroadsandbrushes.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/everybody-paints-on-thursday/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

