Skip to content

The House on Hood Street ~ Rockport, Texas

January 22, 2013
The House on Hood Street, 8x10, Gouache

The House on Hood Street, 8×10, Gouache

We have relocated to Rockport, Texas, where we’ll be for the next three months.  Rockport is on the Texas coast on the Gulf  of Mexico.  We’re here for the mild temperatures and sunshine.  We’re also here because we love being near the water, and even though we can’t see it from where we’re staying,  water is less than five minutes away.

I’ll be doing some sketches and paintings of water and boats while we’re here, but for now, Nell is being limited by a pinched nerve, and we’re staying close to the RV until her mobility improves.  So… I looked around here at the RV park.

Coastal Oaks RV park A

I found several potential places to paint, but I didn’t want to stray far.  I spotted this house about a block away,  zoomed in with the camera, shot it and then printed it as a 4×6 photo.  It may actually be two structures, but for the painting, I treated it as one.

Coastal Oaks RV park 7

I set up under the awning, with the photo in front of me, but in a position where I could also see the house.  It’s visible in the photo above, just to the right of the car across the street.  I liked the way the light was hitting the structure, with that cast shadow across this end.  The photo allowed me to freeze that shadow reference, and I could still paint what was out there.  Plein air?  I don’t know.  It really doesn’t matter.  I was outside, enjoying the fresh air, painting something I could see in the distance.  And I was able to use colors and light I actually was seeing rather than those in the photograph.

IMG_1884edited

It also gave me the chance to use my new Easyl Lite outdoors for the first time.  Apparently Nell communicated with Dot Courson, our painter friend in Pontotoc, Mississippi, and got several recommendations for an outdoor easel.  This Easyl Lite was my Christmas present.  I love it.  I’m using a watercolor palette that folds closed and fits nicely in the palette area of the Easyl box.  Next time I set it up, I’ll shoot a photo of the box with the watercolor palette closed.

So, I’m off and running here in our new location.  I have been down to the dock in Fulton (right next door to Rockport) and took a few shots of shrimp boats at the dock.  I want to go back in the evening and get more, especially when the boats are being unloaded after a day of trawling in the Gulf.  Meanwhile, Ive printed out several of the images I already have.

It’s 73 degrees outside with sunny skies.  Seems like a good time to sit under the awning and work on some sketches.

If you’re interested in where we’re staying here in Rockport, visit us at http://backroadsandbrushes.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/2774/

7 Comments leave one →
  1. William R Moore permalink
    January 22, 2013 1:57 pm

    Nell did good, likin’ your the new EasyL. New Studio not bad either.

  2. January 24, 2013 10:33 pm

    I love your house painting! Nice warmth on the house and on the palm trees!

  3. January 25, 2013 8:04 pm

    I see you have an EasyL just like mine. I too love it; small, portable and versatile. Just what’s needed for a traveling artist. I’m enjoying the reports on your adventure.

    • January 26, 2013 8:19 pm

      Pg, from your blog, it sounds like you’re getting closer. Good to hear from you.

  4. April 4, 2013 11:22 am

    Interesting post! Beautiful painting.

Leave a Reply

