Skip to content

Paintings from the Road

October 14, 2012

Studio Work

I’ve enjoyed painting outdoors with friends over the past few  months.  But another aspect of our travels has been the discovery of new places and finding a wide range of subject matter for paintings.  I’ve taken a lot of reference photos along the way,  If I’ve  posted some of these here on the blog previously, I apologize.

Pennsylvania Dutch Country, Gouache, 9×12

We spent a considerable amount of time in Pennsylvania, and of course I’ll be developing some paintings and studies of barns and sheds and houses.   But as we roamed the back roads between Amish farms one day, we came upon this classic pastoral scene complete with dairy cows.  I couldn’t resist putting this little painting together from several different reference photos.

Virginia Homestead, 5×7, Gouache

I’ve painted this little two room house previously, but it’s such a great subject.  Our trip to Virginia in search of Nell’s roots included the discovery of this place, actually the first home of her parents.  This little place is so full of all the things I love in a subject:  it’s old, with lots of texture, and full of nostalgia.

St. Helena III, 8×10, Gouache

We visited the little town of Canal Fulton, Ohio to see and experience a little of the history of the Erie Canal.  It was especially fun to paint this canal boat after spending an hour on board.  The ride up the canal and back, with the boat being towed by two horses up on the towpath, was a real learning experience.

The Back Barn, 8×10, Gouache

Our trip to Virginia included a visit to the farm owned by Nell’s uncle.  Roaming around by myself on this old farm, which had seen better days, was a humbling experience.  Nell’s uncle only has a few head of cattle today, but I tried to imagine what working the farm must have been like when the herd was large and the place was thriving.

1930 Pierce Arrow, 5×7, Gouache

With a couple of classic cars in the family, any time we go to Mount Vernon, Ohio we attend at least a couple of local car shows.  This time, one of Nell’s brothers suggested I try painting cars.  I collected a few reference photos and tried my hand at it.  My favorite was the Pierce Arrow.  All that chrome was a lot of fun to paint.

The House at Whispering Hills, 8×10, Gouache

We stayed a couple of days at Whispering Hills RV Park, outside of Georgetown, Kentucky.  We made several trips into Georgetown, and this old house sat up above the country road into town.  There was just something about the place that got my attention.  I’d really like to do  a slightly larger version of this.

This is a large part of what this life of ours is all about.  Seeing places that interest us and recording them in words, sketches, studies and paintings.  We’ll be sitting still for awhile, sort of, over the winter months, so I’ll be going through all the reference material to see what I’ve got.

Stay tuned.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2012 11:24 pm

    All beautiful scenes and wonderfully painted, Ralph. Great work!

  2. October 15, 2012 4:26 am

    Hi Ralph.
    I agree with Gordon above, all wonderful paintings. Keep going my friend.
    Ralph, did you receive my email asking you if i could use one of your photos to paint from?
    All the best.
    Vic.

  3. October 24, 2012 4:15 pm

    Great works! Ciao!

  4. Yorky permalink
    November 6, 2012 1:35 am

    A wonderful group of paintings Ralph. I have been wondering where you are camped at the moment.

Leave a Reply

