Skip to content

Painting with Craig Reynolds & Gina Brown

September 26, 2012

A farm near Gadsden

My artist friend Craig Reynolds lives in Gadsden, Alabama.  He’s lived there his whole life, and has trouble finding things to paint.  If you’ve ever been to Gadsden, you know that it’s a beautiful place set on the Coosa River, and there is a potential painting around every corner.  As it turned out, the place in the image above was one he hadn’t painted, and finally did.  And I got to paint it with him.

I met Craig when I was invited to participate in the Southeastern Plein Air Invitational in 2011.  We actually met face-to-face and became better acquainted when I arrived in Gadsden, Alabama for the week-long paint-out.  Craig sort of took me under his wing, showed me around Gadsden, and encouraged me when I didn’t feel like I was painting well that week.  Our friendship continued online after that.

So when Nell and I hit the road, a stop in Gadsden was a “must do” part of the itinerary.

Craig and Estra Reynolds

We arrived in Gadsden on Tuesday, and met Craig and his wife Estra for dinner that evening.

Craig and Gina

On Wednesday morning, Craig picked me up at the RV park and we spent the day painting.  Nell was contending with a bout of gout, and spent the day taking it easy.  I had met Gina Brown online the same time I met Craig, and we became friends also.  Gina lives in the Gadsden area, and came out to paint with us.

The first day’s work

Painting from the back of the car

On Thursday, Craig and I painted a dairy farm from across the road.

My second morning’s work

Craig finishes up

Craig and Robert Lasseter

In the afternoon, we met Gina at a farm owned by Robert and Sandra Lasseter.

Painting The Old House

As soon as I saw this old house by the driveway, I knew I had to paint it. I spent long enough on it to get a sunburn, but not enough to do what I wanted.  I’ve got a little work to do on it as soon as we settle for a while.

I don’t know whether my plein air work is improving or not.  I think it probably is.  But it really doesn’t matter.  Meeting up and painting with friends have been some of the highlights of the past few months.

Here are the pieces I did outdoors while in Gadsden:

Farmer’s Lake, 9×12, Gouache, Plein Air

Tree Study, 5×7, Gouache, Plein Air

Dairy Farm, 5×7, Gouache, Plein Air

The Old House, 9×12, Gouache, Plein Air

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2012 10:06 pm

    Thanks for coming to paint with us Ralph. Good luck to you and Nell and ya’ll be real careful on the road. Keep up the good work my friend

  2. Sandra Lasseter permalink
    September 26, 2012 10:09 pm

    Y’all are welcome at the Lasseters anytime you want to paint!

Leave a Reply

