Skip to content

W&N Zinc White: Lesson Learned

May 27, 2012

I use a lot of white gouache.  Got dangerously low on DaVinci Titanium White in 37 ml tubes.  We went to a local art/craft supply store where they had Windsor & Newton Gouache, but were out of white.  I got stupid and ordered two tubes of W&N zinc white, which only comes in 14 ml tubes.

Never again.

W&N Zinc White gouache is the stickiest stuff I have ever used.  When I squeeze a little out of the tube, it leaves a little trail that sticks to the palette and to the tube, so there’s this little white thread across the palette.  The only way I could find to use it was with a very wet brush.  There was no way I could get my brushwork out of this paint.  I’ll keep it for little projects that I’m not overly concerned about, but I’ll never buy it again.

Buying online, at Cheap Joe’s (the only place I’ve found DaVinci Gouache), a 14 ml tube of zinc white costs $6.91.  DaVinci only comes in 37 ml tubes, and a tube of titanium white costs $5.91.  Economically, it’s a no-brainer.  Especially if you use a lot of gouache like I do.

I know there are people who are really picky about their gouache, and cost is not an issue.  If you are one of those, and you’re happy, then by all means keep using what you’re using.  I’m just sayin…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2012 9:33 pm

    I’ve had the same issues with W&N white. I’m currently using M Graham titanium white, which has a nice consistency, but it’s a bit expensive.

    Also, I’ve been loving all your work recently! Cool colors, interesting subjects. I especially like the window.

  2. December 13, 2012 12:25 pm

    I just found your blog. Yea! Glad know that there are people that regard gouache as a
    primary medium. Tech question can I use a watercolor palette and put gouache in the wells
    as one would do with watercolor? And spray the wells with water when I want to use the
    paint? I have found card board [the back of watercolor pads] an excellent surface to paint on. The gray or brown color is a fine “ground”. Are you “happy” with Divinci Paints? Or are
    there any other well priced paints. Thankyou Richard Luden

    • December 16, 2012 10:03 am

      Richard, I actually do use a watercolor palette these days, a rectagular one with a lid. Because we live in a motorhome now, I close the palette and keep it in my french easel, which gets used indoors as well as outside. Water will reactivate gouache, but it will never be as soft as when it first comes from the tube. I keep a wet paper towel folded in the mixing area, and that helps some. I am perfectly happy with DaVinci, and don’t know of any other brand that is as well priced. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

