Skip to content

More Plein Air

May 10, 2012

Bridges’ Pond, 8×10, Gouache, Plein Air

Spent the entire day Thursday painting outside.  We’re parked on the property of Nell’s sister and her husband.  I started the day down at the pond.  After watching a large goose swim across the pond with a gaggle of little goslings and stroll off toward the adjoining property, I set up my easel and went after this little scene.

The Bench at Bridges’ Pond, 8×10, Gouache, Plein Air

Across the pond, there is an old bench sitting in the shade by the water’s edge.  The woods in the background was a pretty busy subject in itself, and I took a pretty loose approach to the water.

Vera’s Hen House, 8×10, Gouache, Plein Air

The concrete block hen house was an interesting subject.  I’ll probably spend a little more time working on some of the details at the door and window.

The Bridges House, 8×10, Gouache, Plein Air

The sun hitting the end of the house caught my attention.  The brick wall against the foliage and lawn was a color treat.

One more day of sunshine tomorrow (according to the forecast), then some family obligations over the weekend.  The forecast is calling for rain next week, so I may get back to some studio work then.  I’m enjoying the plein air work, and feel like I’m making progress with it, but I’ve got some reference photos I’ve taken in the last few days that I’m anxious to work with.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 7:45 pm

    Nice work, Ralph. I particularly like that first one with the pond and its reflections…always look forward to your beautiful images.

Leave a Reply

