Skip to content

The Lane

May 8, 2012

Bridges’ Lane #1, 8×10, Gouache, Plein Air

We arrived Sunday at the home of one of Nell’s sisters in Mount Vernon, Ohio.  We’re hooked up next to the barn.  I spent a good part of this morning working on the water heater in the RV, but finally gave up for the day.  I hadn’t painted in several days, so I pulled out the french easel and set up outside.  I stayed close because it had rained all night, and the sky was still threatening.  If it started raining, I was ready to move everything into the barn.

This is a view down the driveway, looking back toward the road that runs in front of the property.  We’ll be here for a couple of weeks, at least, so I’ve called this Bridges’ Lane #1 because I suspect it will appear again.  There is lots to paint right here on the property, and I expect to do quite a bit of plein air work, because I need the practice.  I’ll be taking lots of reference photos, so I plan to do some “studio” paintings as well.

This photo shows our “home” in Ohio for a while.  It’s a beautiful piece of property, and includes a pond with cattails down the hill next to the driveway.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. margaretquin permalink
    May 9, 2012 6:55 am

    This painting looks so real! Love the detail & the colors! Very “happy” feeling… Bright colors! Enjoy your work, Ralph!
    The neighborhood is pretty much unchanged here. Just dreading another long HOT DRY Summer.
    Margaret Quin

Leave a Reply

