Skip to content

Three Plein Air Paintings

April 19, 2012

Today is our last day here at Galveston Island State Park.  I had a few maintenance items to take care of on the motorhome, but still managed to get some good painting time in.

Beach House, 8x10, Gouache, Plein Air

First up was this huge beach house that sits just outside the far end of the state park property.  I had painted it last week late in the afternoon, from the beach.  This morning, the sun was hitting it just right, so I set up and went at it.  The view this time was from the front of the RV, and behind the sand dunes.

Back Bay, 8x10, Gouache, Plein Air

Next, I shifted positions to gain the shade of the RV’s awning.  I’ve been looking across the road at this flat land that stretches over to the bay behind the island, with the string of beach houses that make up a place called Jamaica Beach, just west of the state park.  Today was the day to paint this open field with the bay just barely visible.

Jamaica Beach, 8x10, Gouache, Plein Air

And finally, since I wasn’t ready to stop, I picked out section of the beach house community and sort of zoomed in on it with this view.

I’ve collected a ton of reference photos to work with as we find stopping places down the road.  I do enjoy the plein air work, but I miss being able to slow down and take my time with a painting.  It’s just going to take some time management on my part to work out a way to do some plein air work, some studio work, and still get out and about at the places we visit.

I’ll bet we figure it out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 7:12 pm

    I’m having a great time observing your changing lifestyle, Ralph. You look like you are living it to the fullest. Looking forward to your final pieces on those little plein aires. Very best wishes. Candace.

Leave a Reply

