Skip to content

Taking It Easy

April 13, 2012

"I'll paint in a little while. I do have my priolrities..."

Actually, I have been painting a little.  But this is Nell’s first true week of retirement without any obligations or “to do” lists, and last week was a killer, so we’ve been playing, relaxing, and taking walks on the beach.

Friday's Sunrise

We’ll get to the painting part shortly, but first here’s an example of the sunrises we’ve been seeing.  While I have been painting plein air, I’ve learned that I’m nowhere near fast enough to capture a scene like this and do it justice.

Did this one down on the beach the other day while Nell fished in the surf.  Yep, you read that right.

On Thursday, I painted several little sky studies, but had to stand in the shelter of the RV because of the wind.  We got a few sprinkles, but I resisted the temptation to shut down, and nothing really got wet.  The wind was the worst part.  Here are a couple of the sky studies.  Not my best work, but then my plein air work never is.  I’ve painted skies and clouds.  But painting clouds en plien air is a huge challenge.  The subject changes even faster than the light!

Sk 1y, 5x7, Gouache, Plein Air

When I paint outdoors, I have a tendency to paint with much thinner paint.  I don’t know why.  Maybe because gouache dries so fast on the palette, especially in the wind, that I just hate to waste paint.  I know I’m not supposed to worry about that, but I do.  I have a feeling if I put out a lot more white on the palette, and pretended I was rich, I’d get a better result.  Here’s another one:

Sky 2, 5x7, Gouache, Plein Air

The wind started picking up yesterday, and is even higher today.  The next couple of days are supposed to have 20 to 30 mph winds, so I think I’m going to set up and paint indoors today.

If you’re interested in where we are and what we’ve been doing the last few days, you can follow us at www.backroadsandbrushes.wordpress.com.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 8:36 pm

    You look relaxed hey why not LOL enjoy!

Leave a Reply

