Skip to content

The Blue House in Back

April 2, 2012

The Blue House in Back, 8x10, Gouache

This is a “studio” painting.  I’ve been doing a lot of plein air work, and while I was seeing some improvement, I felt the need to work with a bit more confidence for a change.

We are still at Woodland Lakes RV Park in Conroe/Woodlands, Texas.  The reference for this little study was a photo I took on a day trip to Brenham, Texas.

The Outdoor Studio

I set up outside under the awning in the Outdoor Studio, with the reference photo clipped to a piece of board and attached to the easel.  The backpack contains a large part of my entire stock of art supplies, making it heavy enough to attach to the french easel as an anchor in case of wind.

Painting outdoors like this has its advantages.  The greens in the painting seemed to be more like what I was seeing in the landscape around me, rather than the greens in the photo.  I don’t think that was intentional, just a sort of subliminal awareness of my surroundings.  But the strong value differences in the photo allow me to see those really dark shadows that are part of my own personal preference in my paintings.  In a sense, it’s the best of both worlds.

The biggest positive in this was just the fact of sitting outside, painting the way I wanted to paint, while enjoying the fresh air and cool breeze.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 5, 2012 4:24 pm

    The best of both worlds, aint this the life!

Leave a Reply

