Skip to content

Mixing it up…

March 22, 2012

Along the Shore (Lake Palestine, TX), 8x10, Gouache (Click image for larger version)

This post includes a variety of work.  Three completely different pieces.  The first, above, is a studio painting from a photograph, taken on the way to do the demo at Hideaway, Texas.  The view is from a bridge crossing Lake Palestine, near Coffee City, Texas.  This one seems to go back to my painting roots, with influences of Corot, Inness, and maybe a couple of other 19th century landscape painters.  I like to paint this way, realistically with a touch if impressionism.

Lunch at Casey's, Galveston, TX, 8x10, Gouache

I am fascinated by other artist’s paintings of interior spaces, especially cafes, bars and restaurants.  It’s not a subject that’s in my comfort zone at all, but I would like to get better at it.  This is from a photo I took while having lunch with Nell in Galveston, Texas.  Casey’s is a seafood restaurant that provides a casual (and slightly less expensive) alternative to its sister restaurant, Gaido’s, which has been the place to eat in Galveston since I was a kid.

Dock, 8x10, Gouache, Plein Air

I’m determined to become better at painting outdoors directly from life.  That’s been hampered a bit by the rainy weather we’ve had so much of since relocating to Conroe, near Houston.  But sunshine has reappeared, and with the time change allowing more time in the evening after dinner with Nell, I’ve reaffirmed my mission.  I’m going to try to make two-a-day outdoor painting sessions the norm if it’s not raining.  Remember, gouache doesn’t like rain.  This morning, I spent some time at the edge of the little pond near our RV site, doing this plein air study of the little dock and the tall grasses in the foreground.

I have high hopes that the outdoor work will improve with practice.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Robyn Lovelock permalink
    March 24, 2012 7:18 am

    Hi Ralph…
    I think they’re all great……but I particularly like your restaurant scene. I think you did an excellent job. Well done.
    Hope you’re enjoying your travels.
    Robyn

Leave a Reply

