Skip to content

Continuing on… in another location

March 5, 2012

I have to confess that I’m having trouble keeping up with two blogs.  To be fair to myself, I’m going to focus primarily on Back Roads & Brushes, the blog that recounts our RV living and travel activities.  That blog lends itself well to the inclusion of sketches and paintings done as we travel, and if I do it right, should become a good blend of art and travel.  I’ll retain this blog that your reading now, and use it for the occasional step-by-step or “technical” stuff.

So if you’re a follower of this blog, I am extremely grateful for the support, and I invite you to mark www.backroadsandbrushes.wordpress.com and if you like, subscribe to get notices of new posts.  The paintings and sketches and studies I do are all records of the places we go, the things we see, so combining it all into the one blog makes sense to me.  Some articles will just be aboout our experience of living in our 14 year old, 36 foot motorhome.  Others will be posts of the work I do.  Much of it, hopefully, will be work done outdoors on location or en plein air.  Studio work will be done either inside at the makeshift “dinette studio” or outside, working from photographs taken along the way.  For now, this will be the last post in this blog… at least for awhile:

Along the Bank, 6x8, Gouache, Plein Air

While I do intend to get back to doing more “finished” studio paintings, I’ve made a vow to myself to spend much, much more time painting from life outdoors.  Our new lifestyle is already contributing to that.  Our motorhome is parked on the edge of a small lake, a pond, really, but call it what you will, it’s a small body of water with wonderful reflections and ripples.  And it’s right outside our door!  This spot is visible from our windows.

So, to allow more painting and writing time, I’ll end the regular posts here with this little piece.  And ask you to join us at Back Roads and Brushes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 5:30 pm

    I’ll miss your regular posts here, Ralph, but understand your need to focus. There is never enough time for everything you’d like to do. I’ll keep an eye out for future posts here and drop in on your other blog occasionally. All the best to you both in your travels. Candace.

Leave a Reply

