Skip to content

More Studies of Malabar Farm

January 18, 2012

The Hen House, 8x10, Gouache

This is the hen house at Malabar Farm, near Mount Vernon, Ohio.  The painting is based on a photo I took last summer.

I don’t know if my work is taking a turn in a certain direction, or if I’m just working a little faster and stopping sooner because of the new painting conditions.  I seem to be working in a bit more of a sketchy style lately.  Here’s another recent example:

Stage Coach Inn, 9z12, Gouache

The Stage Coach Inn is also at Malabar Farm.  To be honest, I’m enjoying painting this way, spending a lot less time and energy fussing over little stuff.  I could spend a little more time on the field on the left side of this painting, however.  And I’m not entirely happy with the dirt tracks.  But overall, these paintings say what they need to say.

Like most painters, I love the work of the French impressionists, and am easily influenced.  I also have no doubt that I’ll do some more realistic work in the future, when the subject calls for it, and when the realism spirit moves me.  I’m too enamored of the work of Russian artists like Ivan Shishkin and Isaac Levitan to not attempt some form of realism from time to time.

I fully expect to do a great deal of plein air, or outdoor on location, painting when we start travelling fulltime.  The sketchy approach I’ve been taking lately just may be a way for me to do that and be happy with the results.

For now, I’m enjoying this looser, more casual approach.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 9:13 am

    Ralph, I enjoy seeing your worik, loose sketchy or realism.

    I can certainly relate to the style dilemma. Some subjects just seem to demand a more realistic approach..

  2. January 20, 2012 10:13 am

    You do both styles with finesse. I like the loose style. Ed

Leave a Reply

