Skip to content

A Train On a Siding and A Greenhouse

December 27, 2011

I had forgotten that my son-in-law Scott discovered we had an extension to the dinette table.  You pull the table top out from the wall to reveal the extension hidden underneath.  If you look closely, you can see the extension at the right end of the table, next to the wall.  It adds about 12 inches to the width of the table, which in this case, creates a lot more work space.

I set up this morning after walking the dog.  I turned off the furnace to conserve propane, and switched on the little electric heater we brought along.  Once the sun was up and I opened the front curtains, it didn’t take long for the sun to take over from the heater.  As the morning wore on, I eventually turned off the heater and opened a couple of windows.  It turned out to be a nice day, but I chose to keep working inside.  I still need to figure out the best lighting to paint under.  For now, I’m turning on three overhead lights and opening the window blinds next to the work area.

On The Siding, 8x10, Gouache

I wanted to experiment a bit.  This little study was an exercise in simplicity.  I started with a board toned with a combination of yellow ochre and burnt sienna, and sort of went from there, drawing everything in with pure burnt sienna.  It was a fun little experiment that I probably spent a little over an hour on.

After playing with the train study, I pulled up a reference photo I took last summer at Malabar Farm in Ohio.  I really liked the place, and brought back quite a few good references.  This is a view from the back of some of the barns.  In this case, there was a substantial greenhouse attached to the side of one of them.

I drew the structure and sloping lawn with a soft round brush, using a thin mixture of leftover burnt sienna and ultramarine.  Like all my work, these are on Crescent illustration board.

This is as far as I went today, playing with the color on the side of the barn, getting the glass grid in the greenhouse blocked in, and working with the trees and grass a bit.  I’m not sure if I’ll be able to get back to this tomorrow.  There’s work that needs to be done on the motorhome, and it’s possible part of it may get done tomorrow.  We’ll see.

*     *     *

I’ve recently been introduced to the work of Hugh Bolton Jones (1848-1927), an American painter whose landscapes are wonderful.

I have a feeling I’ll be spending some time looking at this man’s work.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

