Skip to content

Online Struggles and Little Gouache Studies

December 16, 2011

The wifi at the RV Park has been pretty unreliable the last few days.  Not being a computer person, I blamed  it on the rainy weather, but this morning, the sun is shining, so there goes that theory.  Whatever the reason, the result has been a lack of online activity.  Well… a lot of activity, but it mostly has consisted of sitting and waiting for something to happen.

I normally use Photoshop Express to crop and prep my photos, but now I’m reduced to just cropping and resizing them in Paint.  I hope they look okay on your computer.  And… I’m typing this post in Word first, and then will paste it into WordPress.  Applications that are installed on my computer seem to work fine.  It’s the online stuff that’s causing some frustration.  If you’re reading this, it means WordPress finally opened up for me.

*    *    *

I’ve actually just been experimenting with painting at the table for the past week.  I knew it was going to require some adjustment, to be able to paint comfortably, yet still not be in the way.  For now, I’m painting during the day while Nell is at work.  That entails getting the French easel out, setting it up as a tabletop unit, then closing it up and putting it away to make room for dinner.  It turns out that we’ve eaten every meal but one at the table since we moved into the motorhome.  So, indoor painting is sort of an “add-on” for the present.

There is one other thing I may try.  When I first started painting with gouache, I worked at a drawing table instead of an upright easel.  The easel came later, when I started trying to paint like an oil painter.  Since gouache is opaque watercolor, after all, I may try to go back to painting on a flat, or slightly tilted surface.  We’ll see.

At any rate, these are some of the things I’ve done in the last few days.  They’re all small, 5×7, not done in any hurry, by any means, but still trying to keep them under two hours.  They’re all done from reference photos I’ve taken in past travels.  When we finally hit the road in the motorhome, I will, of course, try to spend a lot of time doing this outdoors.  But I also intend to take a lot of reference photos that can be treated as little studies and sketches like these.

 I tend to just go through a group of reference photos, with a stack of little boards handy, and paint a number of these in one session.  There are always some rejects, but a few of them come out well enough to be festival-worthy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jo Morton permalink
    September 27, 2014 2:56 am

    I do a lot of mini studies from reference photos- started these tentatively in my Moleskine ‘reporters notebook’ , and have ‘graduated ‘ to using watercolour blocks since somebody said she wanted to buy them!

Leave a Reply

