Skip to content

Untitled Gouache Painting

December 13, 2011

Untitled, 8x10, Gouache (For a slightly larger view, click on the image)

I’ve been working on our 2012 travel itinerary, but took some time out today to do some painting.

On our way back from Wichita, Kansas this past Sunday, I shot a few reference photos out the window, as usual.  This clump of trees along a grassy gully, with the standing water reflecfting the sky, caught my attention just in time to get a quick shot.

It was another dreary day, calling for a color palette of ultramarine blue, yellow ochre, burnt umber, a touch of burnt sienna, and titanium white.

Since I’ll be the primary driver when we’re on the highway in the motorhome, the 70 mph reference photos will probably become a thing of the past.  I’m kind of looking forward to taking my time and shooting subjects from more than one angle!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gordon permalink
    December 13, 2011 4:39 pm

    One great thing about the motor home will be the elevation you have, Ralph, to see unique and interesting landscapes…I remember when I got my pickup truck that I got a whole new perspective on landscapes that are within miles of my house. I was seeing things I didn’t even know existed. Happy motoring and painting!

Leave a Reply

