Skip to content

First sketch/study in the Motorhome

December 3, 2011

I had some time while Nell was at work on this wet, dreary Saturday morning.  I dug around and found this little tabletop easel behind the loveseat, and my big painting tackle box. This is one version of painting in the RV. It’s the first attempt to see where everything is going to sit while I paint. There are some bugs to work out, but it can be done pretty easily.

This is part of the view out the side window where I was sitting. If you’ve been following, you know this is a temporary location.  This is painted from life, even if not outdoors, so it counts. It’s a definite reject, quality-wise, but I expected that. New setup, new conditions, and I haven’t touched a brush in weeks. It felt good, though.

Tomorrow’s a quiet day,and it’s supposed to be even colder and more dreary than today, so I’ll try again, while Nell is curled up on the loveseat with a book.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2011 2:11 pm

    Looking good Ralph. I like your palette too. I will on occassion just grap a plastic coated paper plate to use for my palette. At least that way, I don’t have to clean palettes. LOL.

    • December 7, 2011 9:32 am

      Hal, the palette I was using was too big for the space I have. The plates were a sudden thought when we were gorcery shopping. We’ll see how long it works. I think I’ll still need something heavier for outside.

  2. William R Moore permalink
    December 3, 2011 3:47 pm

    “If you’ve been following, you know this is a temporary location.”

    Ralph,
    I thought that all your locations (as the mood strikes you and Nell) are more or less temporary Hee Hee :0)

    This dreary Saturday morning, I have been catching up reading from the beginning Glenn Morrissette’s blog “To Simplify…the pursuit of happiness through simple living on the open road” . A few days ago I got the link from your blog. Thanks for a fun and very interesting read.

    • December 7, 2011 9:35 am

      True, William! :o) Some will be even more temporary!

      I took a quick look at Glenn Morrissette’s blog. Should be an interesting read when I settle down a bit more. Thanks for the reference.

Leave a Reply

