Skip to content

Staying Flexible

November 10, 2011

Life is a bit strange at the moment.

As I’m writing this, there is a contractor going through the house, doing the inspections for the buyer.  Shortly, the buyer will show up as well, and apparently the buyer’s realtor will be here a bit later.  I don’t have to entertain these people at all, and really prefer not to.  I don’t want to have to answer any questions or explain anything about the house. That’s why we pay realtors a commission.  But it’s a bit strange to have total strangers wandering around in other parts of the house while I sit upstairs working on the computer.  Ah, well, this too shall pass.

If you’ve checked in at my other blog, Back Roads & Brushes, you may have read that we’re going to hold off on making the
modifications to the motorhome.  That includes replacing the dinette table and chairs with a workstation for computing and painting.  We went to where the RV is presently stored the other weekend while prospective buyers were being shown the house.  It was right around mid-day, so we took a picnic lunch and ate it while sitting at the table in the motorhome.

That was a pleasant little interlude, and I wondered if it might be a mistake to do away with the table and chairs.  Here in the house, we rarely eat meals at the table.  But who knows what little lifestyle changes might take place when we find ourselves at times with a nice scenic view right outside our window?  I do have to admit that we have decided to delay almost all of the modifications, including replacing the flooring, simply because we got the contract on the house kind of unexpectedly, and the buyer wants to close at the end of the month.  There really isn’t time to get estimates, order materials, and get the work done before we need to move into the motorhome.

The workstation would still have required the use of a tabletop easel or drawing board setup, so there will only be a slight
difference in working height.  And as for drawing and sketching, I’ve always done most of that while sitting in a recliner or easy chair, anyway.  The workstation would have included an additional cabinet for the Epson Artisan 810 printer, and a few additional drawers for art supplies.  We’ll find another suitable place for the printer, and the art supplies will just have to go in overhead cabinets.

Once we get past winter, I hope to do more plein air painting and sketching, so there’s less time spent at an indoor easel or
drawing board.  If at some time, we feel we really need the workstation, we’ll revisit the project then.

For now, we need to stay flexible, and focus on moving very quickly to get what’s left in the house ready to go somewhere… to family, to the motorhome, to the trash, or to the Salvation Army.  And we need to get the motorhome stocked, moved, and ready for winter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 5:32 pm

    Hi Ralph,greetings from italy, I have followed with great interest and admiration this evolutionary phase of your life.
    I think this is in the nature of you U.S. citizens., your flexibility and desire to always dive in new adventures, reminds me of the “frontier myth”, always finding new “Northwest Passages” and horizons to be discovered.
    I envy you very much, and your peace of mind is the size of the dullness of my life.
    I would like to have your own courage and determination, without thinking of anything else, but I can not ..
    Good luck my friend, and come back soon to post on WC.

    Ugo Felici (Iclosemyeyestosee for WC)

    • November 26, 2011 9:15 pm

      Ugo, what a pleasure to hear from you, my friend. I’m flattered that you have been following our little adventure. I don’t know if it is necessarily an American trait, but my wife and I do have a touch of wanderlust, and a desire to see new places. We probably should have done these things when we were much younger, but we were, like so many Americans, focused too much on making a living and supporting a lifestyle. Now we are at an age where some things are simply not as important to us, while other things have taken on new meaning. We shall see if it’s all just foolishness on our part. I hope not.
      As always, I appreciate your kind words and encouragement.
      Stay well.

Leave a Reply

