Skip to content

Honey Run Waterfall

October 19, 2011

Honey Run Waterfall, 16x20, Gouache (Click on image for a larger version)

Honey Run Waterfall is just a few miles outside of Mount Vernon, Ohio.  We’d been told about it a couple of years ago, so on our last trip we combined a stop at the waterfall with a foray into Amish country.  The waterfall wasn’t running full force, so it wasn’t terribly loud, but there was enough sound to let one’s imagination loose a bit.  There were four of us, and I let the others explore a trail to the top ahead of me.  It’s not a particularly high waterfall, but they got far enough up that I couldn’t see or hear them.  I wanted to stand on those huge rocks at the bottom, listen to the rushing water, look up at the broken ledge, and try to transport myself back in time, imagining the Native Americans who lived in this area silently stalking prey, a deer perhaps, that came to drink at the pool below the falls.

I could picture early pioneers stumbling onto this place, and possibly setting up a temporary camp along the creek.  There’s something about a place like this that invites the imagination to wander.  I took a number of reference photographs, and may try a couple of other views, either of the falls or the creek working its way through the fallen logs and massive broken boulders.

This was very much a Hudson River School kind of place.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 5:28 pm

    Wonderful piece of work Ralph.

  2. Joni LeBlanc permalink
    May 10, 2012 10:20 pm

    I have spent the last couple of hours traveling with you and looking at your paintings. I have not painted in a long time but will get back to it. We traveled from May 1998 to May 2000, looking for a good place to settle down. We were not sure where it would be, but wanted to be out of Southern California. I had lived in Monrovia for 62 years and never dreamed I would ever leave. I took hundreds of pictures that I was going to paint, but they are still in a box waiting for me. You have inspired me to get those paints and pictures out and get busy. Thanks for the trip. We settled in Taylor, AZ and love the small farm town atmosphere.
    Joni LeBlanc

    • May 11, 2012 7:44 am

      John, messages like yours make the time I spend putting this together worthwhile. Get those paints and photos out and get at it. Just remember that it’s supposed to be fun. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

