Skip to content

“Welcome” and Two Other Paintings

October 16, 2011

Welcome, 9x12, Gouache (Click image for a larger version)

I collect a lot of reference photos of gates.  Most of the time they’re closed, which makes sense, because there are usually cattle or horses, or other livestock somewhere behind the fence.  So when I spotted this one off a gravel road back in the boondocks near my home, I grabbed a photo of it.  I’ve had it for quite a while, and finally brought it up and decided it was time to paint it.  I love painting these old gateways, with the heavy timber fenceposts and the rusty metal stock gates.

I suppose this painting is sort of in my “realistic” zone, staying on the impressionist side of the fence, but spending a bit more time on details.  Developing the foreground and the fence was especially fun.

Here’s how I started this one:

I did a quick, very simple pencil sketch, just to pin down the main parts of the scene, and to get the composition laid out the way I wanted it.  Then I put in the dark tree on the left, the thick hedgerow, the background treeline, and some indications of the road.  Short, sweet and to the point.

The two paintings below were done last week and are smaller, and a bit looser in approach.

Another Back Road, 8x8, Gouache

Untitled, 8x8, Gouache

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 5:55 pm

    Wonderful work Ralph. I enjoy your paintings.

  2. October 17, 2011 9:44 pm

    Love ’em!
    Margaret Q

  3. October 30, 2011 1:22 am

    loooooove these.

Leave a Reply

