Skip to content

Small Gouache Paintings

September 7, 2011

Untitled, 4x6, Gouache

Yesterday, I spent some time working smaller.  I love doing larger gouache paintings (11×14, 16×20), but folks really seem to like the little ones.  I generally get stuck in a rut, doing nothing but 5x7s, but I wanted to try a couple of sizes in between 5×7 and Nell’s little mini florals, which are 2 1/2 x 3.  Because we sell these at festivals and arts & crafts fairs, we try to stay with standard frame sizes, which allows us to keep the cost competitive at those little festivals.

Above is a 4×6 done yesterday.  I’d like to get the brushwork much looser on these little gems, and have been looking once again at the gouache work of Marc Hanson and Erik Tiemens.  Both those guys have developed beautiful brushwork at small sizes.  I still tend to do the small ones the same way I do the larger ones.  But I keep experimenting to find what works best for me.  Here’s another one done yesterday:

Back Country Gate, 4x6, Gouache

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 12:35 pm

    Lovely work Ralph. I would like to know how these smaller pieces sell for you. I’ve been advised to go larger. I typically paint 11 by 14 and 16 by 20. I personally think larger, pricier pieces art more difficult to sell at art fairs.

  2. September 7, 2011 2:42 pm

    I love the first one. Its bright, like the sun is just out of sight above the edge of the picture. And the looseness/roughness of the strokes is wonderful.

  3. julie Myers permalink
    September 11, 2011 7:40 pm

    Heart these little ones!!!!!!!!!! 2.5×3! Love it!

Leave a Reply

