Skip to content

Rotating the Work

August 25, 2011

I’ve been varnishing and framing the last few days in preparation for the First Saturday Arts Market in Houston on September 3rd.  I have way more work than the booth will hold, so now comes the weeding out process.  We’ve noticed an interesting phenomenon.  When we first started doing shows, I had only been painting for two years.  I painted a lot, and from one show to the next, I replaced several pieces that were not up to standard with newer paintings.  That has been a consistent approach over two years of festivals and shows:  replace lower level work with newer, better work.

I mentioned to Nell that I was seeing a potential dilemma in selecting work this time.   The last show we did was this same venue late last year.  Most people probably wouldn’t remember what they saw back then, but I didn’t want to put up the same show.  And besides, I have a lot of new work I feel good about.  In the past, this was an easy process.  Not so much this time.  This time, I seem to be replacing good work with more good work.  This time, it appears to just be a rotation process.

This is not to say that I’ve stopped improving.  And I don’t think I’m hitting a plateau.  Maybe it means my work is finally settling into some kind of consistency.  Rather than big leaps from painting to painting, I’m seeing more subtle refinements and changes in technique and brushwork, and some new color palettes have started to show up.

I’m taking a mix of sizes, as usual, but we’re going to put up a large number of these little 5×7 paintings.  I think the economy right now calls for good small work, priced low.  We’ve also been discussing taking shrink-wrapped, unframed original paintings.  That would allow us to take some of that existing good work along with the framed new work.

One thing is certain.  As I look at this work, I’m pleased with it.  And that’s very, very important.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 4:22 am

    Hi Ralph.
    They all look great in their frames. And i like the look of your frames as well. I noticed my favourite painting is going into the show. That is certainly a beauty. It`s the middle of the top three paintings. If that doesn`t sell, well, i`ll eat my hat, or cap in my case. All the best with the show Ralph. Sell the lot my friend.
    Vic.

  2. Deb Edmunds permalink
    August 26, 2011 7:20 am

    Ralph,
    Wish I was in Houston so I could stop by the show! Good Luck with it!

  3. August 26, 2011 8:08 am

    Ralph, I am sure your show will do well. Your selection is wonderful. You always inspire me so good wishes are coming your way!

  4. Alex Strychalski permalink
    August 27, 2011 9:10 am

    Good luck in your upcoming show. A lot of nice little ones there. Hope you sell all of them

  5. August 29, 2011 1:52 am

    Hey….all of that work looks good! Can totally relate to rotating the work too. I think you’re verysmart to get those small ones out there too. It’s always good to throw in some large stuff but the market seems to be small right now which is understandable. Wishing you and Nell the best out there! Go Get Em!

Leave a Reply

