Skip to content

Prepping for the Arts Market

August 22, 2011

We have a booth reserved at the First Saturday Arts Market in Houston on Saturday, September 3rd.  We haven’t done a show of any kind all year, and I thought it would be good to at least get out there before the year is over.  We’re scheduled to do this show on the first Saturday of October and November as well.  We haven’t done the Market in Houston since late last year, and we’re looking forward to it.

This morning, I hauled two tubs of framed art and two tubs of empty frames from the garage up to the studio.  I’ve started the selection process, trying to decide what will go to Houston.  I think I’m going to make this primarily a “small painting” show, with lots of little 5x7s and 8x10s.  We’ll take a couple of larger 16x20s as well, newer ones, I think.  The photo above shows a lot of the 5x7s.

I’ve started the prep work by signing a lot of the newer work.  Tomorrow, I’ll get out and varnish before the temperature gets back up to the low 100s.  Then I’ll trim those that need it, and start the framing process.  I’ve got two weeks to get ready, but history says if I think that way, I’ll end up working in a panic the last couple of days, and I’m just really not into panic these days.

We really need a new canopy top, but it’s not in the budget right now, so we’re going to pray for rain between now and then, and then pray for the rain to stop for that weekend.  We need rain all over Texas right now, but I’d prefer not to have it on the day of a show.

It was kind of nice to pull all of these small paintings out of the closet.  There’s some good stuff in there, I think.  Once they get framed, they’re really going to look good.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 7:00 pm

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

