Skip to content

Limited Palette Sketches

June 29, 2011

While thinking about what the next painting will be, I played a little.

By the Chicken Coop, 5x7, Gouache

My artist friend David Simons in Arizona is a master at doing studies with this kind of palette (ultramarine blue, yellow ochre, burnt umber, burnt sienna and titanium white).  I thought it was time to experiment again.  This little sketch is from a photo taken a year or so ago at my sister-in-law’s place in Ohio.  There are a couple of huge trees next to the chicken coop behind their barn.  I tried doing a plein air sketch at this spot when I was there once.  A niece and nephew were looking over my shoulder, and I don’t think they were too impressed.

Covered Bridge, 5x7, Gouache

One of the true masters of gouache is Erik Tiemens.  Erik’s artistic influences are similar to mine (Corot, Constable, Turner), but he has spent far more time studying and emulating them.  His gouache work, as well as his mixed media work (watercolor, pastel, pen&ink) blows me away every time I look at it.  It is true genius.  My sketch of the covered bridge over the Mohican Waterway in Ohio doesn’t even come close to what he does, but it’s fun to play around with the limited color palette.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

