Skip to content

Island in the Stream

June 27, 2011

Island in the Stream, 20x30, Gouache (updated image)

 

I’ve said before that one of the first original paintings I remember seeing outside of a museum was a painting of a Texas Hill Country river by Travis Keese.  Keese was the uncle of a boyhood friend, and I recall being so impressed that, even then, I knew that someday I wanted to learn to paint.  And I wanted to paint scenes like the one in that painting.  It only took fifty years to finally get around to it.

This a rather large painting for me.  After going through a half dozen or so smaller paintings, I felt I was painting too fast.  I needed something that would make me slow downand take a little more time.  Working at this size accomplished that.  I’m going to let this one sit for awhile.  There are a couple of spots that I think need more thought.

The scene here is Ohio, along the Mohican Waterway.  The stone breakwaters create nice wading – and presumably fishing – spots, while the river moves along pretty briskly on the other side of the island.  I’ve painted several scenes from reference photos taken in that area.  The light on an overcast day seemed to just hit in special places, like the top of that tree on the little island, and onto the shoreline on the left.

For a few short moments, this became a magical place, where one just wanted to be still… and listen.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 6:28 pm

    I could just sit and watch this all day. So peaceful. It rests the soul.

  2. July 1, 2011 10:23 pm

    This is fantastic! I love how your brushwork looks at this scale. And the scene is so peaceful, like Cheryl said. The colors are so calm and rich, and I love the lighting.

    • July 4, 2011 9:25 am

      Meg, coming from a gouache painter, those comments are really special. Thanks a lot!

  3. July 2, 2011 9:57 pm

    Georgous!! I love it!!

  4. July 2, 2011 9:58 pm

    Most beautiful painting!!

  5. neil permalink
    November 5, 2011 2:18 pm

    all of your works are beautiful indeed….

Leave a Reply

