Skip to content

Back to my painting roots

June 23, 2011

My painting roots only go back four years, but they are strong roots, based on an exploration of the landscape, with strong influences from 19th century English, Dutch and French painters along with those who were part the Hudson River School.  When considering all of the influences from Corot to present day painters, I seem to fall into a heavy traditional representational category when I just relax and paint.  While I enjoy all of the other experimentation and exploration of other subjects, my roots lie in painting trees, grass, dirt and sky, with an occasional barn thrown in.  So… here is what I’ve been up to the last couple of days.

What’s interesting is that these are not terribly different from work I was doing two or three years ago.  So… either I haven’t progressed very much, or I was on the right track even back then.

I am currently without any kind of image manipulation program, so these are exactly the way the camera saw them. 

Peace Like a River, 8x10, Gouache

End of the Driveway, 8x10, Gouache

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

