Skip to content

The Old Shed

June 8, 2011

The Old Shed, 16x20, Gouache (Click image for a slightly larger version)

I spotted this old shed while on my way home from Alabama a few weeks ago.  I believe this was somewhere in or near the William B. Bankhead National Forest.  I caught a glimpse of it on my left, off the road a short way, turned around and went back.  I pulled to the side of a narrow road, and shot some photos through the open passenger window.  There were a couple of men burning debris near the shed, and they looked up at me.  I had the shots I wanted, so I turned around, got back on the highway, and resumed my trip.  I really didn’t want to get into an extended conversation with some old boys in the woods of Alabama, trying to explain why I was taking long range photos of their place.

In this painting, I relocated the shed to an open hillside, and added some heavy foliage and a cow.  This is the scene I wanted to paint.  The old shed with it’s odd, mismatched boards and rusty roof was fun to paint, and Imay try it again with some different compositions.

I started with a pencil drawing directly on the painting surface (cold press Crescent illustration board)…

When I had the drawing the way I wanted it, I gave it a very light spray with Krylon Workable Fixative.  I stress a very light touch of fixative.  I’ve discovered that gouache doesn’t take well to a heavily fixed surface.  Then I started painting over the sketch in my normal manner, this time laying in the darkest areas first.

I’m not sure I’m completely done with this one.  I’ll set it aside and let it decide what it wants to be in a week or so.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 11:09 am

    I passed several lovely old barns yesterday in Wisconsin. I wish I had thought to stop and take some pictures for you. There was a great old stone barn you would have liked.

Leave a Reply

